2022–23 Events

  • September

    JAZZ MASTER CLASS
    Thursday, Sept. 8, 2022 — 1 pm — Free
    Bobby Broom, Guitar
    Dalton Center Room 1130

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL
    Thursday, Sept. 8, 2022  — 7:30 pm — Free
    Relic Ensemble
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    MASTER CLASS
    Saturday, Sept. 10, 2022 — 10 am — Free
    Relic Ensemble
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Sept. 14, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Brass Faculty Showcase
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL
    Monday, Sept. 19, 2021 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Mac McClure, Piano
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    MASTER CLASS
    Saturday, Sept. 24, 2022 — 1 pm — Free
    Ben McIlwain, Trombone
    Dalton Center Lecture Hall

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL
    Saturday, Sept. 24, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Ben McIlwain, Trombone
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Sept. 24, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    American Wild Ensemble
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    MASTER CLASS
    Friday, Sept. 30 2022 — 2 pm — Free
    Catalyst Quartet
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BULLOCK SERIES presented in collaboration with Fontana Chamber Arts
    Friday, Sept. 30, 2022 — 7:30pm — Charge
    Catalyst Quartet
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

  • October

    UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA
    Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    featuring Stulberg Competition Silver Medalist Jacques Forestier, Violin Soloist
    Miller Auditorium
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    UNIVERSITY JAZZ LAB BAND
    Tuesday, Oct. 4, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Carlo De Rosa, Director
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    UNIVERSITY JAZZ ORCHESTRA
    Thursday, Oct. 6, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Scott Cowan, Director
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    MASTER CLASS
    Monday, Oct. 10, 2022 — 1 pm — Free
    Greg Spiridopoulos, Trombone
    Dalton Center Room 1116

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL
    Monday, Oct. 10, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Greg Spiridopoulos, Trombone
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    UNIVERSITY BANDS SHOWCASE
    Monday, Oct. 17, 2022 — 6 pm — Free
    University Wind Symphony, University Symphonic Band, and University Concert Band
    Miller Auditorium

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL presented in collaboration with the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra
    Tuesday, Oct. 25, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    KSO Artists-in-Residence in a Program of Sonatas

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Oct. 26, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Deirdre D.S. Sense, Hip-Hop Artist
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    FACULTY AND GUEST RECITAL
    Thursday, Oct. 27, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Live Electronics Concert
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    ALUMNI RECITAL
    Friday, Oct. 28, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Conor Sprunger, Clarinet
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    CHORAL SHOWCASE
    Sunday, Oct. 30, 2022 — 3 pm — Free
    University Chorale, Anima, and Amphion
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

  • November

    WESTERN WINDS
    Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Scott Boerma, Conductor
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Nov. 2, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Keith Hall Jazz Trio featuring Robert Hurst III, Bass
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL
    Thursday, Nov. 3, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Cory Mixdorf, Trombone
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    GOLD COMPANY SNEAK PREVIEW
    Friday, Nov. 4, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Gold Company and GC II
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    OPERA
    Friday, Nov. 11, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Saturday, Nov. 12, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Title TBA
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA
    Sunday, Nov. 13, 2022 — 3 pm — Free
    Bruce Uchimura, Conductor
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    ANNUAL BIG BAND SWING TRIBUTE
    Friday, Nov. 18, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    University Jazz Orchestra and University Jazz Lab Band
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    UNIVERSITY WIND SYMPHONY AND UNIVERSITY SYMPHONIC BAND
    Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022 — 3 pm — Free
    Scott Boerma and Trey Harris, Conductors
    Miller Auditorium

     

    MASTER CLASS
    Sunday, Nov. 20, 2022 — 7 pm — Free
    Peter Steiner, Trombone
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL
    Monday, Nov. 21, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Peter Steiner, Trombone
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    UNIVERSITY PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE
    Tuesday, Nov. 22, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Marja Kerney, Director
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    STUDENT RECITAL
    Tuesday, Nov. 29, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Student Composers I
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Nov. 30, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Meridian Arts Ensemble
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

  • December

    JAZZ MASTERS SERIES
    Thursday, Dec. 1, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Chris Potter, Saxophone
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    A CHORAL CHRISTMAS
    Saturday, Dec. 3, 2022 — 4 pm — Charge
    Saturday. Dec. 3, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    University Chorale, Anima, Amphion
    First Presbyterian Church, Kalamazoo
    Purchase Tickets

     

    BRONCO MARCHING BAND MILLER SHOW
    Sunday, Dec. 4, 2022 — 3 pm — Charge
    Trey Harris, Director
    Miller Auditorium
    Purchase Tickets

     

    UNIVERSITY CONCERT BAND
    Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Mary Land, Conductor
    Miller Auditorium

     

    BIRDS ON A WIRE
    Tuesday, Dec. 6, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Mary Kothman, Director
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    CAMPUS CHOIR
    Wednesday, Dec. 7, 2022 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    ANNUAL HOLIDAY CONCERT
    Sunday, Dec. 11, 2022 — 3 pm — Charge
    40th Annual Brass for the Holidays featuring the Western Brass Quintet
    Miller Auditorium
    Purchase Tickets

  • January

    STUDENT RECITAL
    Saturday, Jan. 14, 2023 — 1 pm — Free
    Concerto Competition Finals
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Jan. 18, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Carl Ratner, Baritone
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Opus  21 Encore
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

  • February

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Feb. 1, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Western Winds
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    UNIVERSITY JAZZ ORCHESTRA AND UNIVERSITY JAZZ LAB BAND
    Thursday, Feb. 2, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Scott Cowan and Carlo De Rosa, Directors
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA
    Saturday, Feb. 11, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Bruce Uchimura, Conductor
    Yu-Lien The, Piano Soloist

    Miller Auditorium

     

    UNIVERSITY WIND SYMPHONY AND UNIVERSITY CONCERT BAND
    Sunday, Feb. 12, 2023 — 3 pm — Free
    Scott Boerma and Mary Land, Conductor
    Miller Auditorium

     

    UNIVERSITY SYMPHONY BAND
    Monday, Feb. 13, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Trey Harris, Conductor
    Miller Auditorium

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, Feb. 22, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Greg Jasperse, Voice, and Chico Pinheiro, Guitar
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    CHORAL SHOWCASE
    Sunday, Feb. 26, 2023 — 3 pm — Free
    University Chorale, Anima, Amphion
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    STUDENT RECITAL
    Tuesday, Feb. 28, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Student Composers II
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

  • March

    GUEST AND STUDENT RECITAL
    Wednesday, March 1, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    KSO/WMU Composers Workshop
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    WESTERN INVITATIONAL JAZZ FESTIVAL
    Friday, March 3, 2023 — 7:30 pm —Charge
    Guest Artist TBA
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    WESTERN INVITATIONAL JAZZ FESTIVAL
    Saturday, March 4, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Closing Concert featuring the University Jazz Orchestra
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    GC45
    Friday, March 17, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Saturday, March 18, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Sunday, March 19, 2023 — 2 pm — Charge
    Gold Company and GC II
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    Purchase Tickets

     

    GUEST ARTIST RECITAL presented in collaboration with the Kalamazoo Symphony Orchestra
    Tuesday, March 21, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    KSO Artist-in-Residence: Burdick/Thorne String Quartet
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    SOUTHWESTERN MICHIGAN FESTIVAL
    Thursday, March 23, 2023 — 7 pm — Free
    University Chorale — Kimberly Dunn Adams, Conductor
    Derrick Fox, Guest Conductor

    Miller Auditorium

     

  • April

    WMU TROMBONE CHOIR
    Monday, April 3, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Steven Wolfinbarger, Conductor
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    UNIVERSITY JAZZ LAB BAND
    Tuesday, April 4, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Carlo De Rosa, Director
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BULLOCK SERIES
    Wednesday, April 5, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Charge
    Chromic Duo
    Dalton Center Recital Hall
    pre-concert talk at 7 pm
    Purchase Tickets

     

    GOLD COMPANY II
    Thursday, April 6, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    BIRDS ON A WIRE
    Saturday, April 8, 2023 — 1 pm — Free
    Mary Kothman, Director
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    UNIVERSITY PERCUSSION ENSEMBLE
    Saturday, April 8, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Marja Kerney, Director
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    SPRING CONFERENCE ON WIND AND PERCUSSION MUSIC
    Thursday, April 13, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    University Wind Symphony — Scott Boerma, Conductor
    David Biedenbender, Guest Composer and Conductor

    Miller Auditorium

     

    CHORAL SHOWCASE
    Saturday, April 15, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    University Chorale, Anima, Amphion
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    UNIVERSITY SYMPHONIC BAND AND UNIVERSITY CONCERT BAND
    Sunday, April 16, 2023 — 3 pm — Free
    Trey Harris and Mary Land, Conductors
    Miller Auditorium

     

    CAMPUS CHOIR
    Wednesday, April 19, 2023 — 7:30 pm — Free
    Dalton Center Recital Hall

     

    ANNUAL CONCERTO CONCERT
    Sunday, April 23, 2023 — 3 pm — Free
    University Symphony Orchestra — Bruce Uchimura, Conductor
    Miller Auditorium

Miller Auditorium small bag policy

In an effort to enhance patron safety, Miller Auditorium adopted a best practices procedure consistent with policies being implemented at Performing Arts Centers across the nation. Please note, when coming to Miller, bags and purses should be no larger than 4.5" X 6.5", or approximately the size of a small handbag or clutch purse. Anything larger than that may be subject to search or you may be requested to return the bag to your vehicle. Backpacks of any kind are strictly prohibited.