Spring Convocation 2020

Contact: Kay Mortellaro
Jan. 6, 2020

KALAMAZOO, Mich.—Western Michigan University Spring Convocation on March 10, 2020

This event is organized by The Office of Research and Innovation to recognize the work of WMU faculty.

Fetzer Center

9 to 11:30 a.m.
Discovery  Symposia

  • Discover Symposium on Connections to Public Heath, room 2016/2018. Session Chairs: Mark Kelley and Georgiana Fisher  
9 to 9:10 a.m.Opening Remarks
9:10 to 9:25 a.m."Substance use screening, brief intervention, and referral to treatment—SBIRT: Training graduate students and professionals in the mental health and medical professions" — Presenter Tiffany Lee
9:25 to 9:40 a.m."Effects of Climate Change on Human Health" — Presenter David Karowe
9:40 to 9:55 a.m."Exploring Health Experiences of Congolese Refugee Women through Photovoice: Qualitative Evidence to Inform Public Health Action" — Presenter Shannon McMorrow
9:55 to 10:10 a.m."English + Health for Refugees/The Challenge of Delivering Clear Health Messages in Pharmacies" — Presenter Doris Ravotas
10:10 to 10:25 a.m."Using Technology to Influence Populations Associated with Public Health Nutrition Programs" — Presenter Robert Bensley
10:25 to 10:40 a.m."Community Impacts of Partnerships between Academic Programs and Communities: Demonstrating Learning through Practice" — Presenter Tom Richardson and Bachelor of Science in Public Health students
10:40 to 10:45 a.m.Transition
10:45 to 11:25 a.m.Student Showcases and Networking
11:25 to 11:30 a.m.Closing remarks
  • Discover Symposium On Being Human: Recent Work in the Humanities and the Arts, room 2020. Session Chairs: Lofty Durham and Ann Miles 
9 to 9:05 a.m.Introduction — Ann Miles, Director of the University Center for the Humanities, Professor of Sociology
9:05 to 9:30 a.m.Shelly Hendrick Kasprzycki, President & CEO, Michigan Humanities Council
9:30 to 9:45 a.m.

"Local Women, National Themes:  Michigan Women's Organizations and Public Library Development"  — Presenter Sharon Carlson, Professor University Libraries and Zhang Legacy Collections  Center

9:45 to 10 a.m."Love, Death, Democracy" — Presenter Ashley Atkins, Assistant Professor of Philosophy 
10 to 10:15 a.m."Meditative Poetry in the Brain" — Presenter Elizabeth Bradburn, Associate Professor of English
10:15 to 10:30 a.m."Postcolonial Literature in the Anthropocene" — Presenter Todd Kuchta, Associate Professor of English


10:30 to 10:45 a.m."Compassion During War and Environmental Catastrophe" — Presenter Bilinda Straight, Professor of Anthropology and Gender & Women’s Studies
10:45 to 11 a.m."Retrace: MI: A Participatory Project" — Presenter Patricia E. Villalobos, Professor, Gwen Frostic School of Art
11 to 11:15 a.m. Rehema Barber, Curator, Kalamazoo Institute of the Arts


11:15 to 11:30 a.m. 

Questions and Discussion — Moderator Ann Miles, co-chair

9 to 11:30 a.m.  
As Extended University Programs continues its transition to WMUx the team will be at spring convocation to share information about its transformation and gather insights. More information.  Room 2030

9 to 10 a.m.  
Fulbright Workshop, Room 1040/1050  

10 a.m. to 12 p.m.
Fulbright Individual Advising Sessions. Register for a session. Room 1040/1050

11:30 to 12:30 p.m.  
Faculty Research and Creative Activity Awards Poster Presentations, Lobby

12:30 to 2 p.m.
Discovery Excellence Recognition Luncheon, Invited guests of the Vice President for Research and Innovation

Excellence in Discovery Award

Awardees for 2018-2019 Fiscal Year

Largest new multiple year award

Dr. Lori Wingate, Dr. Michael A. Harnar, Ms. Emma Leeburg

Largest new single year award

Dr. Hector D. Quemada

Largest new award to a faculty member within their first three years at WMU

Dr. Kelly T. Kohler

Largest new interdisciplinary award across multiple colleges

Dr. Clement Burns, Dr. Pnina Ari-Gur, Dr. Asghar N. Kayani, Dr. Lisa Paulius, Dr. Ekkehard Sinn

Largest new foundation award

Dr. Michael A. Famiano

Largest total funding to an individual (PI or Co-PI) across all new awards

Dr. Robert J. Bensley

Largest award in each college

College of Arts and Sciences: Dr. Devin Bloom

College of Education and Human Development: Dr. Jessaca K. Spybrook

College of Engineering and Applied Sciences: Dr. Upul Bandara Attanayake

College of Fine Arts : Dr. Kimberly Dunn Adams

Haworth College of Business : Dr. Satish Deshpande, Ms. Tamara J. Davis

College of Health & Human Services: Dr. Dae Shik Kim, Dr. Sangwoo Lee,
Dr. Koorosh Naghshineh, Dr. Robert S. Wall Emerson,

Central Administration Areas: Dr. Erika A. Carr, Ms. Tania L. Echavarria

Externally funded expenditures above $500,000 in 2018-19 fiscal year

Dr. Patricia L. Reeves                         

Dr. Andrea L. Beach

Dr. Nancy B. Mansberger

Dr. Stephen Magura

Patents awarded in 2018-19 fiscal year

Dr. Massood Atashbar

Dr. Karim Essani

Dr. Gellert Mezei

Dr. John Patten