Faculty in lab

As a learner-centered and discovery-driven institution, Western Michigan University values the research of its faculty. The following lists the research interests of faculty members in the Department of Biological Sciences.

Faculty research areas

Principal research associate

Joint appointment research areas

Adjunct research areas

  • Allen Buhl, Ph.D.—pharmacology
  • Alvar Carlson, Ph.D.— plant breeding and plant genetics
  • Nicholas Duesbery, Ph.D.—cancer biology
  • Katrin Epplemann, Ph.D.—biochemistry
  • Chris Fisher, Ph.D.—antiviral research
  • Neal Goodwin, Ph.D.—microbiology
  • Nichol Holodick, Ph.D.—immunology 
  • Rolf Kletzien, Ph.D.—cell and molecular biology
  • Erik Larson, Ph.D.—molecular and cellular biology 
  • David Linn, Ph.D.—neurophysiology
  • Charles Mackenzie, Ph.D.—tropical disease
  • James Mobley, Ph.D.—cancer research
  • Gregory Reichard, Ph.D.—pharmacology and chemistry
  • Ivan Richards, Ph.D.—pharmacology
  • Tom Rothstein, Ph.D.—immunology  
  • Richard VanEnk, Ph.D.—microbiology
  • John Vrbanac, Ph.D.—pharmaceutical drug discovery

Emeriti research areas

  • Bruce Bejcek, Ph.D.—cancer biology
  • Leonard Beuving, Ph.D.—pathology, imaging
  • Richard Brewer, Ph.D.—ecology
  • David Cowan, Ph.D.—evolution, behavioral ecology
  • Joe Engemann, Ph.D.—zoology
  • Leonard Ginsberg, Ph.D.—cell biology, toxicology
  • Charles Ide, Ph.D.—gene expression, environmental risk assessment
  • Stephen B. Malcolm, Ph.D.—ecology, chemical ecology