Western Michigan University's Haworth College of Business is composed of six academic units and several administrative units. The Office of the Dean includes the advising office, the Zhang Career Center and business computing services. Representatives from every department and the dean's office serve on Haworth College of Business' committees. The organizational chart below shows the relationship among these areas.

  • Leadership

    Office of the Dean
    Dean: Dr. Satish Deshpande
    Associate Dean of Graduate Programs and Operations: Dr. Steve Newell
    Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs: Dr. Devrim Yaman
    Executive Assistant: Cyntia Dawson
    Phone: (269) 387-5050

    Department of Accountancy
    Chair: Dr. James Penner
    Administrative Assistant II: Jamie Long
    Phone: (269) 387-5211

    Department of Business Information Systems
    Chair: Dr. Muhammad Razi
    Administrative Assistant II: Elizabeth Eisenbach
    Phone: (269) 387-5411

    Department of Finance and Commercial Law 
    Chair: Dr. Jim DeMello
    Administrative Assistant II: Jeannine Shafer
    Phone: (269) 387-5726

    Department of Management
    Chair: Dr. Decker Hains
    Administrative Assistant II: Beth Smith
    Phone: (269) 387-5837

    Department of Marketing
    Chair: Dr. Kelley O'Reilly
    Administrative Assistant II: Jessica Pelkey
    Phone: (269) 387-6061

    Department of Military Science and Leadership 
    Chair: Lt. Col. Caitlin Hinterman
    Administrative Assistant II: Isobel Brown
    Phone: (269) 387-8120

  • Organizational chart

    The mission of the Haworth College of Business at Western Michigan University is to provide intellectual and economic value in a focused and personal environment that values quality teaching, peer-reviewed applied research and dedicated student services. How the college of business is structured and how the various units interact with each other to fulfill this mission is depicted in the following organizational chart.

    Dean: Dr. Satish Deshpande

    • Advisory Council: Nancy Owens, chair
    • Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs: Dr. Devrim Yaman
      • Academic Advising: Dr. Colleen Stano, director
      • Recruitment and Outreach: Scott VanAvery, manager, and Paul Hildenbrand, manager, community colleges
      • Student Professional Readiness Series (SPuRS): Danielle Field, program manager
      • Zhang Career Center: Geralyn Heystek, director
    •  Associate Dean of Operations and Graduate Programs: Dr. Steve Newell
      • Graduate Programs: Renuka Phillips, director
      • Center for Business Analytics: Dr. Kuanchin (KC) Chen, director 
      • Center for Entrepreneurship and Innovation: Dr. Decker Hains, chair of the Department of Management
      • Center for Supply Chain Management: Tom Kelly, director
      • Center for Sustainable Business Practices: Dr. Tim Palmer, director
      • Food Industry Research and Education CenterDr. Marcel Zondag, director
      • Global Business Center: Renuka Phillips, director
    • Associate Dean of International Programs in Asia: Dr. Mike Tarn
    • Marketing and Alumni Relations: Stacey Anderson, director of marketing and communications
    • Budget, Operations and Service Support: Doralee DeRyke, business manager
      • Duplicating Center: Judy Custer, office assistant senior
      • Computing Services: Alex Roelandt, director of information technology
    • Department Chairs: Drs. Jim Penner, accountancy; Muhammad Razi, business information systems; Jim DeMello, finance and commercial law; Decker Hains, management; Kelley O'Reilly, marketing; and LTC Caitlin Hinterman, military science and leadership