Events

The Department of Chemistry at Western Michigan University sponsors events each semester; faculty, staff, students and the general public are welcome to attend.

For more information regarding speakers, location or parking, please call the department at (269) 387-2870.

Monday at 4 p.m. in 1220 Chemistry Building
Friday at 1 p.m. in 1260 Chemistry Building

Fall 2019 seminar schedule

Friday, September 6, 1 p.m. - Jackline Onyango, WMU literature seminar - Oligo(Serine-Ester) Charge Altering Releasable Transporters: Organocatalytic Ring-Opening Polymerization for Delivery of mRNA

Monday, September 9, 4 p.m. - Dr. Amanda Garner, University of Michigan - TO BE RESCHEDULED Chemical Probing of Translational Control and microRNA Biology

Friday, September 13, 1 p.m. - Emile Van Meter, WMU literature seminar - Unlocking Reactivity of TrpB: A General Biocatalytic Platform for Synthesis of Tryptophan Analogues

Monday, September 16, 4 p.m. - Dr. Liangliang Sun, Michigan State University - Top-down Proteomics Using Capillary Electrophoresis-Mass Spectrometry

Friday, September 27, 1 p.m. - Temitope Nathan, WMU literature seminar - Anti-Zika Activity of a Library of Synthetic Carbohydrate Receptors

Monday, September 30, 4 p.m. - Dr. Joseph Loo, UCLA - Application of Mass Spectrometry for Detecting and Finding Cures to Brain Disorders

Monday, October 28, 4 p.m. - Dr. Emily Dykhuizen, Purdue University - Epigenetic drugs to reverse gene expression changes in cancer

Monday, November 4, 4 p.m. - Dr. Graham Moran, Loyala University of Chicago - Dihydropyrimidine Dehydrogenase: A Seemingly Unnecessarily Elaborate Dehydrogenase

Monday, November 11, 4 p.m. - Dr. Karl Koebke, University of Michigan - TBD

Monday, November 18, 4 p.m. - Dr. Ricky Stull, Western Michigan University - TBD

Monday, November 25, 4 p.m. - Dr. Jennifer Stockdill, Wayne State University - Slimming the Waste-Line in Peptide Synthesis