2018 Achievement Awards

The College of Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the 2017-18 Achievement Award winners. This year we recognized 14 individuals for their exemplary contributions to our students, the college and Western Michigan University as a whole.

Each of these individuals was honored at a special awards ceremony April 3. These awards recognize their great work and outstanding contributions over the past year.

Please join us in congratulating our deserving recipients!

See full list of awards offered by the College of Arts and Sciences.

Faculty Achievement Awards

Global Engagement

Dr. Wei-Chiao Huang, Department of Economics

Professional and Community Service

Dr. Jessica Frieder, Department of Psychology

Research and Creative Activity

Dr. Greg Veeck, Department of Geography


Dr. David Rudge, Department of Biological Sciences

Part-time Instructor Excellence in Teaching

William Reding, Institute of the Environment and Sustainability

Diversity and Inclusion Award

Kaycie Ohmart, Department of Psychology
Dr. Staci Perryman-Clark, Department of English

Staff Excellence Award

Dorilee Crown, Department of History

Undergraduate Advising Excellence Award

Dr. Michelle Kominz, Department of Geological and Environmental Sciences
Bette Ludwig, Department of Psychology

Dean's Appreciation Award

Dr. Robert Sutton, Department of Chemistry

Diversity and Inclusion Student Writing Prize

Itzel Esmeralda Ostos, undergraduate student
J. Gabriel Ware, graduate student

Gender Scholar Award

The CAS Women's Caucus strives to promote an academic culture of inclusiveness for all people at Western Michigan University. The Gender Scholar Award is awarded to a CAS faculty member who demonstrates excellence in gender-related research and scholarly activities. Applicants are judged based on the overall quality of the work and contributions advancing knowledge in an area of research that has a gender focus. This year's Gender Scholar Award recipient is:

Thisbe Nissen, Department of English