Awards and Recognition Ceremony

  • Group photo of 2018 award winners

    2018 CEHD Award Winners

  • Samantha Howard speaking at microphone

    Undergraduate student Samantha Howard receiving a Rising Star award at the 2018 CEHD Awards Ceremony.

  • Joseph Morris receiving award from Dean Li

    Dr. Joseph Morris receiving the Multicultural Advocate Award for Promotion of Diversity at the 2018 CEHD Awards Ceremony.

  • Staff standing at tall table during award ceremony

    CEHD staff at the 2018 CEHD Awards Ceremony.

2019 Awards and Recognition End of the Year Celebration

Friday, April 19
5 p.m., Gilmore Theatre Complex atrium

Nominations for 2019 award recipients will be accepted Dec. 10, 2018 through February 28, 2019.

Award information 

Each spring, the College of Education and Human Development at Western Michigan University acknowledges students, faculty and staff for their great accomplishments from the past year. Recipients are nominated by fellow faculty, staff and students and voted on by the Awards and Recognition Committee.

Required materials:
One completed nomination form and one support form is required. Additional support forms are optional and will be accepted if submitted. If nomination and support forms are not fully complete, submissions will not be reviewed by Awards and Recognition Committee.

*Note: Those submitting Support information need only fill out the Support Form.

The College of Education and Human Development Awards and Recognition Committee is accepting nominations of individuals in the college for the following awards:

The committee encourages nominations from faculty, staff and students. Nominations are to be based on the criteria outlined for each award. Questions may be directed to Amy Burns.

Past award Recipients

Esprit De Corps Award

  • Dr. Jennifer Foster

Staff Excellence Award

  • Amy Burns

Multicultural Advocate Award for Global Engagement

  • Dr. Andrea Smith

Multicultural Advocate Award for Promotion of Diversity

  • Dr. Joseph Morris

Teaching Excellence Award

  • Part-time—David Reva

Mary L. Dawson Teaching Excellence Award

  • Dr. Kimberly Doudna

Rising Star Award

  • Doctoral—Dustin Anderson
  • Masters—Ayumi Shinoda
  • Undergraduate—Samantha Howard

Strengthening Community Connections Award

  • Dr. Luchara Wallace

Trailblazer Award

  • Dr. Jianping Shen