Dissertation, Specialist Project, and Thesis Defense Submission Deadlines

Dissertation deadlines

Fall 2021 graduation

  • Deadline to schedule defense: October 15, 2021  
  • Last day to hold defense: October 29, 2021 
  • Defended dissertation to Graduate College: November 5, 2021  
  • Commencement: December 18, 2021  

Specialist Project and Master's Thesis deadlines

 Please note that Master's thesis defenses are not scheduled in the Graduate College. Please contact your department to schedule a thesis defense.

Fall 2021 graduation

  • Defended theses to Graduate College: November 12, 2021 

2022 Dissertation/Thesis Deadlines

Friday, February 25, 2022

Deadline to schedule dissertation defense for Spring 2022 graduation

Friday, March 11, 2022

Last day for doctoral candidates to hold dissertation defense for Spring 2022

Friday, March 18, 2022

Defended dissertations due in the Graduate College for Spring 2022 graduation

Friday, March 25, 2022

Defended theses due in the Graduate College for Spring 2022 graduation

Saturday, April 30, 2022

Spring commencement

Friday, April 29, 2022

Deadline to schedule dissertation defense for Summer I 2022 graduation

Friday, May 13, 2022

Last day for doctoral candidates to hold dissertation defense for Summer I 2022

Friday, May 20, 2022

Defended dissertations and theses due in the Graduate College for Summer I 2022 graduation

Friday, June 24, 2022

Deadline to schedule dissertation defense for Summer II 2022 graduation

Saturday, June 25, 2022

Summer I commencement

Friday, July 8, 2022

Last day for doctoral candidates to hold dissertation defense for Summer II 2022

Friday, July 15, 2022

Defended dissertations and theses due in the Graduate College for Summer II 2022 graduation

Friday, August 12, 2022

Summer II semester ends; no commencement ceremonies

 

Other dates to consider

Other important dates for graduate students

  • Academic Year Calendar
  • For other program-specific dissertation/thesis deadlines, please contact your WMU department.