2016 Faculty and Staff Awards

2016 CAS faculty and staff awardees

The College of Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the recipients of the Staff Excellence Awards, Faculty Achievement Awards, and the Gender Scholar Award for 2015-16. This year we are recognizing 17 individuals for their exemplary contributions to the College of Arts and Sciences.

Each of these individuals were honored at a special awards ceremony and reception on April 19.

CAS faculty and staff play a critical role in the success of our departments, institutes, school and the college. We are very fortunate to have an incredible and dedicated group of faculty and staff  in the College of Arts and Sciences. These awards recognize their great work and outstanding contributions over the past year. 

Please join us in congratulating each of our deserving recipients!

Program brochure

Faculty Achievement Awards

Professional and Community Service:
Dr. Denise Keele, Department of Political Science and Environmental and Sustainability Studies program
Ms. Marilyn Kritzman, School of Communication

Research and Creative Activity:
Dr. Jocelyn Steinke, School of Communication
Dr. Maarten Vonhof, Department of Biological Sciences and Environmental and Sustainability Studies program
Dr. Brian Wilson, Department of Comparative Religion

Dr. Julie Apker, School of Communication
Mr. Michael Braun, Department of Spanish
Dr. Chien-Juh Gu, Department of Sociology
Dr. Viviane Ruellot, Department of World Languages and Literatures

Part-time Instructor Excellence in Teaching:
Dr. Hedy Habra, Department of Spanish
Ms. Lis Torres, Department of Spanish

Global Engagement:
Dr. Stephen Covell, Department of Comparative Religion
Dr. Stephen Malcolm, Department of Biological Sciences  

Staff Excellence Awards

Ms. Katie Easley, Program Manager of Student Success Services
Ms. Yumi Takahashi-Ede, Assistant Director for Undergraduate Advising
Mr. Benjamin Gaudio, Network Administrator, Department of Physics

Gender Scholar Award

The CAS Women's Caucus strives to promote an academic culture of inclusiveness for all people at Western Michigan University. The Gender Scholar Award is awarded to a CAS faculty member who demonstrates excellence in gender-related research and scholarly activities. Applicants are judged based on the overall quality of the work and contributions advancing knowledge in an area of research that has a gender focus. This year's Gender Scholar Award recipient is:

Dr. Tabassum Ruby, Department of Gender and Women's Studies