2017 Faculty and Staff Awards

The College of Arts and Sciences is pleased to announce the recipients of the Staff Excellence Awards, Faculty Achievement Awards and the Gender Scholar Award for 2016-17. This year we recognized 14 individuals for their exemplary contributions to the College of Arts and Sciences.

Each of these individuals were honored at a special awards ceremony on April 18.

CAS faculty and staff play a critical role in the success of our departments, institutes, school and the college. We are very fortunate to have an incredible and dedicated group of faculty and staff in the College of Arts and Sciences. These awards recognize their great work and outstanding contributions over the past year.

Please join us in congratulating each of our deserving recipients!

Program brochure

Faculty Achievement Awards

Professional and Community Service:

Dr. Richard Gershon, School of Communication
Dr. Robert Felkel, Department of Spanish

Research and Creative Activity:

Dr. Autumn Edwards, School of Communication
Dr. Chad Edwards, School of Communication
Dr. Chien-Juh Gu, Department of Sociology
Dr. Natalio Ohanna, Department of Spanish


Dr. Adrienne Redding, Department of English
Dr. Pablo Pastrana-Pérez, Department of Spanish
Dr. Whitney DeCamp, Department of Sociology
Annette Hamel, School of Communication

Part-time Instructor Excellence in Teaching:

Dr. James Guzinski, Department of Chemistry

Global Engagement:

Dr. Patricia Montilla, Department of Spanish

Staff Excellence Award

Amy Degner-Petillon, College of Arts and Sciences Advising

Gender Scholar Award

The CAS Women's Caucus strives to promote an academic culture of inclusiveness for all people at Western Michigan University. The Gender Scholar Award is awarded to a CAS faculty member who demonstrates excellence in gender-related research and scholarly activities. Applicants are judged based on the overall quality of the work and contributions advancing knowledge in an area of research that has a gender focus. This year's Gender Scholar Award recipient is:

Dr. Anise Strong, Department of History