Esprit De Corps

This award recognizes an individual who personifies the vision of the College of Education and Human Development at Western Michigan University, especially in reference to respectful civility, collegiality and academic citizenship which work to lift the overall spirit of the college’s environment.

Required materials:
One completed nomination form and one support form are required. Additional support forms are optional and will be accepted if submitted. If nomination and support forms are not fully complete, submissions will not be reviewed by Awards and Recognition Committee.


College of Education and Human Development faculty (tenured, tenure track, term or jointly-appointed), part-time and adjunct faculty, administrators and staff (full-time and part-time) are eligible for nomination. Individuals may not receive this award more than once in a five-year period.

Selection criteria

  1. Clearly demonstrates on-going collegiality and meaningful collaboration with faculty and staff within the college and across the University.
  2. Works to positively impact the culture and environment of the entire College of Education and Human Development.
  3. Serves as an outstanding role model, and practices the highest standards of professional, ethical, and human behavior in day-to-day interactions with faculty, administrators, staff and students.
  4. Each nomination and supporting letter must be at least 350 words, with a maximum of 500.

View the selection rubric.

Selection process

Nominations are reviewed and selected by the College of Education and Human Development Awards and Recognition Committee. Award recipients will be notified by early April. Awards will be presented at the College of Education and Human Development Awards and Recognition Celebration.

Nomination process

Nominations may originate from the dean or other college administrators, department chairs, program directors, department committees, individual faculty, staff or students. Self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominations and letters of support should clearly identify and document how the nominee meets each of the criteria listed above.

 Questions may be directed to Amy Burns.

2023 award RECIPIENT

  • Tayler Boelk


  • Val Horwath


  • Melissa Holman


  • M'Myia Hughes

2019 Award Recipient

  • Tyler Sonnenberg-Ward

2018 award recipient

  • Dr. Jennifer Foster

2017 Award Recipient

  • Dr. Jim Muchmore


  • Dr. Ramona Lewis


  • Dr. Mary Z. Anderson