The purpose of the College committees is to facilitate and promote communication between, staff, faculty, students and the leadership, to encourage excellence and advise on issues of concern. The values and guiding principles of our committees is respect, courtesy, positivity, civility and inclusion. 

Advisory Committees

Standing Committees

  • College Awards Committee

    Members for 2022-2023

    Contact Amy Burns for more information.

  • College Curriculum Committee

    2023-2024 Member Roster

    Click for detailed information regarding the College Curriculum Committee

  • Inclusion and Diversity Committee

    Click for detailed information regarding the Inclusion and Diversity Committee

  • Educator Preparation Governing Council

    The Educator Preparation Governing Council of the College of Education and Human Development at Western Michigan University is a policy-making and review body with oversight of any matter related to the preparation of pre-K-12 education professionals at WMU, including undergraduate and graduate programs.


    The committee comprises three standing committees:

    The committee may establish ad hoc committees as needed to address emerging issues.


    Members of the committee shall include the members of the three standing committees.


    The council will meet at least once each year to review any issues encountered during the process of implementing action plans, review and update by-laws as needed and create additional subcommittees if needed.

  • College Scholarship Committee



    2024-2025 Committee Members

    • Andrea Beach, Educational Leadership, Research and Technology
    • Julie Boylan, Central Services, Budget Office
    • Stephanie Burns, Counselor Education and Counseling Psychology
    • Laura Ciccantell, Teacher and Administrator Certification
    • Emily Curiel, Special Education and Literacy Studies
    • Tammie DeRyder, Central Services, Budget Office
    • Ben Holland, Educational Leadership, Research and Technology
    • Jen Lennon, Special Education and Literacy Studies
    • Beixi Li, Educational Leadership, Research and Technology
    • Nicole Lockwood Womack, Teacher and Administrator Certification
    • Amanda Lozier, Admissions and Advising
    • Adam Manley, Family and Consumer Sciences
    • Lori Farrer, Teaching, Learning and Educational Studies
    • Sarah Rasnake, Central Services, Dean's Office
    • Stacey VanderEide, Grow Your Own
    • Alicia Vorholt, Grow Your Own
    • Luchara Wallace, Associate Dean
    • Carol Weideman, Human Performance and Health Education
    • Ya Zhang, Educational Leadership, Research and Technology