WMU Dining Services strives to create a positive dining experience on campus for everyone. In order to provide the best accommodations, we encourage all students with food allergies, dietary intolerance or specific dietary needs to speak with Emily Hazel, RDN and register your dietary accommodations with Disability Services for Students.
Find general information about gluten-free, nut and seafood allergies below; please reach out to Emily or the Dining Office (296) 387-4844 for more specific information or additional questions. Remember to always advocate for yourself while dining – identify your food allergy or intolerance, and ask for a glove, utensil change or wax paper barrier.
My Pantry within the Valley Dining Center has the most robust gluten-free options on campus, featuring an access-controlled area with a dedicated fridge, toaster, waffle iron and microwave. Students may also have meals individually prepared for them on weekdays between the hours of 11 a.m. and 7 p.m. by ordering a meal in advance online.
Students can gain access to My Pantry by registering their dietary needs with Disability Services for students and meeting with the Nutrition Specialist to review the guidelines for using the space.
All Dining Centers provide:
- Gluten-free mini-fridge – offering gluten-free bread products (bread, tortillas, buns, etc.)
- Check the online menu to find gluten-free options at the dining center of your choosing
- Soy sauce used in house is gluten-free (Jade Mountain)
- Many soups are housemade using gluten-free bases (Minor's) – check online for purple icon to indicate it is free from ingredients containing gluten
- Salads dressings are gluten-free (with the exception of Asian Sesame)
- Taco seasoning is gluten-free (McCormick's)
Check out these micro-restaurants for gluten-friendly dining with minimal risk of cross-contact:
- Pacific Plate at the Valley Dining Center
- Marketplace Grill at Hoekje/Bigelow
- Blazin' Bronco at the VDC
Dining Services recommends that you stay away from fried food and bakery products in the dining centers, as they have high risk of cross-contact.
Peanut/Tree Nut Allergy
Always check the names of the item before selecting entrees or sides. The item name will list "nut" if it contains peanuts or tree nuts. Check the online menu for entrées and side in advance. Peanut oil is not used in any cooking applications on campus.
Items to Avoid:
- Desserts, pastries and sweet breakfast items (muffins, cinnamon rolls, etc.) are baked in a kitchen that bakes items containing peanuts and tree nuts – there is a high risk of cross-contact with these items
- Peanut butter containers are offered close to bagels and breads for toasting
- Sundae bar toppings include chopped peanuts and candy pieces containing peanuts and tree nuts
- Honey Nut Cheerios are offered in cereal area
- Sunflower seeds on salad bar are roasted in peanut oil (not roasted in house)
Always check the names of the item before selecting entrées or sides – item will list the type of fish or shellfish. Check the online menu for entrées and sides in advance – look for the blue fish icon and orange shellfish icon.
Items to Avoid:
- Caesar dressing (contains anchovies)
- Worcestershire sauce (contains anchovies)
- Shrimp is sometimes offered at Pacific Plate at VDC and on Wednesdays at Pastaria
- Sushi – one variety uses surimi crab sticks – shared cutting equipment is used between varieties
- Tilapia is offered every fourth week as a rotating protein at Cilantro's at VDC