Golden Apple Award Recipients


Dr. Margaret McGlinchey (B.A.’77, Secondary Education: Psychology)
Implementation Specialist, Michigan’s Integrated Behavior and Learning Support Initiative
Read her biography

Dr. Wayne "Rusty" Stitt (M.A.'99, Educational Leadership; Ph.D.'10, Educational Leadership)
Superintendent, Schoolcraft Community Schools
Read his biography


Dr. Manuel BrenesDr. Manuel Brenes
Ph.D. '12, Evaluation, Measurement and Research

Principal, San Juan Diego Academy

Tracy DanielTracy Daniel
B.A. '87, Physical Education; M.A. '94, Physical Education

Physical education instructor and coach, Comstock Public Schools

Dr. John SeversonDr. John Severson
B.S. '87, Secondary Education; M.A. '94, Educational Leadership; Ph.D. '13, Educational Leadership

Superintendent, Muskegon Intermediate School District


Dr. Dennis McCrumbDr. Dennis McCrumb
B.S. '71, Physical Education and Mathematics

Professor and Program Coordinator of Educational Leadership, WMU College of Education and Human Development

Dr. Richard SanchezDr. Richard Sanchez
Ed.D. '72, Educational Leadership

President, Navarro College


robert ezelleRobert Ezelle
B.S. '94, Physical Education

Chief Operating Officer, Boys and Girls Club

teresa nealTeresa Neal
M.A. '00, Educational Leadership

Superintendent, Grand Rapids Public Schools

von washingtonVon Washington Jr.
M.A. '94, Educational Leadership

Executive Director of Community Relations, The Kalamazoo Promise


Dale SchreuderDale Schreuder
B.A. '72, Elementary Education; M.A. '77, Educational Leadership

Retired Superintendent, Bloomingdale Public Schools

Rigoberto Rincones-gomezDr. Rigoberto Rincones-Gómez
M.A. '00, Educational Leadership; Ph.D. '02, Evaluation, Measurement, and Research

Associate Vice President of Institutional Research, Planning, Effectiveness and Analytics (IRPEA), Broward College


Stephanie BurrageStephanie Burrage
B.A. '90
Executive director of school achievement services at Wayne RESA

Ana Gil-GarciaAna Gil-Garcia
Ed.D. '91
Professor of educational leadership and development at Northeastern Illinois University 


Garrett BoersmaGarrett Boersma
Ed.D. '79

Retired Assistant Superintendent for Special Education, Kalamazoo Regional Educational Service Agency (KRESA)

Linda Powell

Linda Powell
B.S. '70, M.A. '71

Retired Business Management, Marketing and Technology Instructor, Portage Northern High School

Lisa WilliamsLisa Williams
B.A. '98, M.A. '04

Principal, Ferndale Public Schools




Mark ReineyJohn Mark Rainey
Ed.D. '07

Grant Administrator, Michigan Association of Intermediate School Administrators

Kali LghtfootKali Lightfoot
B.A. '67

Executive Director, University of Southern Maine National Resource Center for the Osher Lifelong Learning Institutes

Kimberly A. English DavisKimberly A. English Davis
B.S. '87

Principal, Detroit Charles H. Wright Academy of Art and Science 




Betty OngleyBetty Ongley
B.S. '47, M.A. '58, Certificate '84
Retired Teacher, Counselor and Guidance Director, Portage Public Schools 

James MenchingerJames Menchinger
B.A. '62, M.A. '66
WMU Coordinator of Student Interns
Forensics Co-Coach, Portage Northern High School 

Cynthia GreenCynthia Green
B.S. '80, M.A. '93
Assistant Superintendent for Student Services, Kalamazoo Public Schools 

Leisha CrawfordLiesha Crawford
B.S. '84
Teacher for the Physically Impaired and Otherwise Health Impaired, Alger Middle School, Grand Rapids Public Schools




Liliana Rodriguez-CamposLiliana Rodriguez-Campos
M.A. '00, Ph.D. '02

Jethro Jaye JohnsonJethro Jaye Johnson
M.A. '75

Dennis PatzerDennis Patzer
B.S. '75, M.A. '86


The Late Dr. Geoff BalkamThe Late Dr. Geoff Balkam
Ed.D. '79
Superintendent, Climax-Scotts Public Schools

Ms. Mary BlakelyMary Blakely
M.A. '85
Principal-Superintendent, Youth Advancement Academy

Ms. Pamela K. IdePamela K. Ide
M.A. '94
Teacher and Mentor Coach, Winchell Elementary School, Kalamazoo Public Schools 

Dr. V. Clayton ShermanDr. V. Clayton Sherman
Ed.D. '75

Chairman, Management House Incorporated


Mr. Willie Gill, Jr.Willie Gill, Jr.
B.S. ’70

Assistant Principal, Kettering High School

Dr. Bruce KocherDr. Bruce Kocher
B.S. ’59, M.A. ’60, Ed.D. '75
Vice President for Academic Services, Kalamazoo Valley Community College

Mrs. Janet LeeJanet Lee
B.A. ’70; M.A. '98
Principal, Climax-Scotts Elementary Schools


Mr. Dene William HaddenDene William Hadden
B.S. ’69; M.A. ’74
Principal, South Haven High School

Dr. James HawkinsDr. James Hawkins
B.A. ’63

Superintendent, Ypsilanti Public Schools

Mrs. Rhonda Vander Veen

Rhonda Vander Veen
B.S. ’84
Elementary Teacher
Portage Public Schools


Mr. Fred DeckerFred Decker
B.S., '64; M.A., ‘68

Retired faculty in Intercollegiate Athletics, Western Michigan University

Mr. John Dominguez, Jr.Mr. John Dominguez, Jr.
M.A., ‘70

Retired Director of Migrant and Bilingual Programs, Van Buren Intermediate School District

Mrs. Leta SchoenhalsMrs. Leta Schoenhals
B.A., '42; M.A., '65; Specialist, ‘68

Retired School Counselor, Portage High School


Dr. Josephine Barry-DavisDr. Josephine Barry-Davis
Ed.D. ‘72
Assistant Professor, WMU Department of Teaching, Learning and Educational Studies

Dr. Craig MisnerDr. Craig Misner
B.S., '69; M.A., '72, Ed.D., '84
Superintendent, Kalamazoo Regional Education Service Agency (KRESA) 

Dr. A. L. "Mike" SebalyDr. A. L. "Mike" Sebaly
B.A. ‘33
Professor Emeritus, WMU Department of Education and Professional Development


Mr. Terry KuseskeTerry Kuseske
B.A. ‘72
Teacher, Hamilton Middle School

Mrs. Vivian DavisVivian Davis
M.A. ‘85
Counselor, Albion High School

Mrs. Bertha McNealBertha McNeal
B.A. ’63, M.A. ‘75

Retired Music Teacher, Milwood Middle School


Mr. Van DickersonVan Dickerson
B.A. '78, M.A. '93
Principal, Phoenix High School Alternative Education, Kalamazoo Public Schools

Dr. Sandra GagieDr. Sandra Gagie
Ed.D. '78
Owner/Director, Gagie School, Kalamazoo 

Mrs. Vickie WinfieldVickie Winfield
B.A. '71, M.A. '79
Retired Principal, Winchell Elementary School, Kalamazoo Public Schools


Mrs. Kathleen AdamsKathleen Adams
B.S. '72
Teacher, Upton Middle School, St. Joseph Public Schools

Dr. M. Arthur GarmonDr. M. Arthur Garmon
B.A. '70, M.A. '75
Associate Professor, WMU College of Education and Human Development  

Mrs. Joy ReinsteinJoy Reinstein
B.S. '64, M.A. '72
Teacher, Sunset Lake Elementary School, Vicksburg Community Schools


Ms. Nancy AmarNancy Amar
B.S. '71

Retired Teacher, Portage Public Schools

Ms. Christie EnstromChristie Enstrom
B.A. '76, M.A. '80

Principal, Woodward Magnet School for Technology and Research, Kalamazoo Public Schools

Dr. Robert Hamet Dr. Robert Hamet
B.S. '62, M.A. '64, Ed.D. '74
Retired Superintendent, Comstock Public Schools


Diane E. DeFordDr. Diane E. DeFord
Ph.D. '78
Professor, Ohio State University

Judy Brush DouglassJudy Brush Douglass
B.A. '69
Teacher, Louise Peacock Elementary School, Corunna, MI

Charles GlaesCharles Glaes
B.A. '76, M.A. '82
Principal, Vicksburg Middle Schools


Dr. James O. Ansel (Posthumous)Dr. James O. Ansel (Posthumous)
B.A., '35
Retired Faculty, WMU College of Education and Human Development
Retired Teacher and Principal, Michigan Public Schools

Judy McGowanJudy McGowan
B.A. '66
Retired Teacher, Milwood Middle School

Martha J. OrloffMartha J. Orloff
Physical Education Program Aquatic Coordinator, Texas A&M University


John M. GazellaJohn M. Gazella
B.A. '68
Teacher, Corunna Public Schools

Bettie GoodmanBettie Goodman
B.S. '63
Professor, Mott Community College

Patricia M. ReevesPatricia M. Reeves
B.A. '79

Superintendent, Vicksburg Community Schools