Legacy of Champions

  • The numerous championships celebrated by the College of Aviation are displayed in the main hangar.

  • WMU pilot preparing for the Women's Air Race
  • WMU Sky Broncos flight team, professional pilots
  • Airframe and Powerplant competition at SkillsUSA - WMU aviation maintenance

Western Michigan University’s aviation program has brought home six national championships. The WMU Sky Broncos, the flight team associated with the National Intercollegiate Flying Association, has a tremendous record of success. The Sky Broncos have won the regional championship in all but one year since 1993 and has placed among the top four in the nation for 17 out of the last 19 years. In addition, the Sky Broncos have won five national championships:

  • 1947 NIFA National Champion
  • 1948 NIFA National Champion
  • 1983 NIFA National Champion
  • 1998 NIFA National Champion
  • 2002 NIFA National Champion 

In the year 2013, the College of Aviation embarked on its next great competitive journey when it joined the SkillsUSA organization. In its first year of competition, the competitive aviation maintenance team hit the ground running, winning a national championship during its inaugural year.

  • 2013 SkillsUSA National Champion
  • 2015 SkillsUSA National Champion

Western Michigan University has also sponsored participants in the Air Race Classic. This all women cross-country race first began in 1929. WMU entered its first contestants in the 2000, and have competed every year except the years 2009-13. Over its tenure, the Western Michigan University teams have performed admirably, finishing second or higher in the collegiate division five times, winning outright in 2005.

  • 2005 Air Race Classic Collegiate Champions